Flagler County swears in newly-elected commissioner, selects chair, vice-chair

November 19, 2020 – One newly-elected commissioner for the Flagler County Board of County Commissioners, and two who were re-elected, took the oath of office on Tuesday afternoon, and then the commission convened to elect its chairman and vice-chairman for the coming year.  

Andy Dance – nearly a native to Flagler County, as his family moved here in 1972 when he was a child – took the oath of office for the first time as county commissioner after three terms serving on the Flagler County School Board.

“I want to thank the residents of Flagler County for this honor,” Dance said, who represents District 1. “I look forward to the opportunity to lead and guide the county government.”

Commissioners David Sullivan, District 3, and Donald O’Brien, District 5, were each sworn in to their second term in office.

“When you run for office, it’s not easy. It takes some courage to put yourself out there,” said Sullivan, the outgoing chairman of the commission. “I enjoyed being chairman for the year…I look forward to 2021.”

The Board of County Commissioners voted unanimously to affirm O’Brien as chairman, and Joe Mullins, who represents District 4, as vice-chairman for a second year.

“Flagler County is crossing a threshold – moving from a rural to a more urban county,” O’Brien said, noting projections put the population at 150,000 by 2035. “I’m excited about our commission starting to focus on growth and the planning that goes around with growth.”

Watch the swearing in and special meeting here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddoSk4B0raA.